Sunday, April 22, 2018

Mask Festival | Papua New Guinea

The Mask Festival was initially introduced in 1995 and is staged as an annual National event to promote the unique Mask Cultures of East New Britain.

Together with their amazing costumes, groups from all across the islands gather in the coastal town of Kokopo to showcase their elaborate ancestral and spirit masks whilst performing ritual dances, each style forging the unique cultural identity of a tribe.

Hoover Dam | USA

Hoover Dam is located in Black Canyon on the Colorado River about 30 miles southeast of Las Vegas, USA. Originally called Boulder Dam, this engineering marvel was renamed for Herbert Hoover, the 31st president of the United States. It was the highest dam in the world when it was completed in 1935. 

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Tioman Island | Malaysia

Welcome to Pulau Tioman
Sitting like an emerald dragon guarding the translucent waters of the South China Sea, Tioman Island offers every possible shade of paradise. There's cascading waterfalls, rigorous jungle hikes that take you past hibiscus blooms under an evergreen canopy, and a wide range of laid-back villages facing onto idyllic beaches. And then there's the sea. That gorgeous sea of greens, blues and chartreuse swirls that beckons you to paddle, snorkel, dive and sail. 


Dinagat Island | Philippines

The Dinagat Islands are a group of islands constituting a province in the Caraga region in the Philippines. Its main island is Dinagat with a population of about 125,000.

Friday, April 20, 2018

Batam Island | Indonesia

Riau Islands is a province of Indonesia. It comprises the principal group of the Riau Archipelago along with other island groups to the south, east and northeast.

Situated on the north-eastern tip of Batam Island, the centre of Riau Archipelago, Nongsa Resorts is the idyllic getaway for everyone.

Flags of the World | Swaziland

The flag of Swaziland was adopted on October 6, 1968 after Swaziland gained independence from Britain. It is modeled after a flag given to the Swazi Pioneer Corps by King Sobhuza II in 1941.

The centered regiment shield features a supporting staff with hanging tassels of feathers. Two Swazi ceremonial spears are placed above the staff.

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Fairy tale castle of Württemberg | Germany

Lichtenstein Castle, built in 1840-1842, has been described as the "fairy tale castle of Württemberg."

The original castle dates back to 1200, but it was destroyed twice until it finally fell into ruins. It was reconstructed to feel like a medieval knight’s castle though, so it feels older than it actually is.

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Red Bay Basque Whaling Station | Canada

Red Bay, locted in Labrador at the north-eastern tip of Canada, is an archaeological site that provides the earliest, most complete and best preserved testimony of the European whaling tradition. It was established by Basque mariners in the 16th century.

Red Bay Basque Whaling Station is UNESCO World Heritage site.

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Lady Isabella | Isle of Man

The Laxey Wheel, also known as Lady Isabella, is the largest working waterwheel in the world. The wheel is built into the hillside above the village of Laxey in the Isle of Man.

It  was built in 1854 to pump water from the Glen Mooar part of the Great Laxey Mines industrial complex. It was named "Lady Isabella" after the wife of Lieutenant Governor Charles Hope, who was the island's governor at that time.

Flags of the World | Austria

There is a story about the origin of the flag of Austria. According to the legend, the Babenberg Duke Leopold V. fought in the Crusade for the Holy Land in 1191 at the Battle of Acre so valiantly, that he did not even notice that his white shirt is totally covered in blood.

After the battle he realized that he had lost his standard, so he decided to hang his stained shirt instead. When he took off his belt with scabbard, an untouched white stripe appeared on his shirt.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Lascaux Cave | France

The Vézère valley contains 147 prehistoric sites dating from the Palaeolithic and 25 decorated caves. The hunting scenes show some 100 animal figures, which are remarkable for their detail, rich colours and lifelike quality.

Prehistoric Sites and Decorated Caves of the Vézère Valley is a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

The city of Guanajuato | Mexico

Guanajuato is a city in central Mexico. Founded by the Spanish in the early 16th century, the city became the world's leading silver-extraction centre in the 18th century.

You see the little frogs? Guanajuato comes from Purépecha Quanaxhuato, which has been translated as both "place of frogs" and "places of many hills".

Historic Town of Guanajuato and Adjacent Mines is a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Neolithic site of Catalhöyük | Turkey

The first people settled at Çatalhöyük about 9,000 years ago. This site tells us how humans made the transition to settled life and started farming. It is one of the best sites representing early society.

Neolithic Site of Çatalhöyük is a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Monday, April 9, 2018

Skogskyrkogården | Sweden

Skogskyrkogården, meaning The Woodland Cemetery, is located near Stockholm in Sweden.

A woodland cemetery is a cemetery where the original landscape with existing trees has been given much influence on the landscape architecture of the cemetery, and where the graves are fitted in among the trees.

Skogskyrkogården is a UNESCO World Heritage site.


Free counters!

Total Pageviews